Credit Union Safety Analysis
Is Northwestern Employees Credit Union Safe? Council Bluffs, Iowa
Based on its Q2 2026 NCUA 5300 call report, Northwestern Employees Credit Union has a net worth ratio of 21.35%, at the NCUA level for well capitalized, its 60-day delinquency ratio is not reported, and its shares are NCUA insured up to $250,000 per member.
BankRegReports is independent of Northwestern Employees Credit Union and never asks for online banking logins or passwords.
Short answer
On its Q2 2026 NCUA 5300 call report, Northwestern Employees Credit Union's net worth ratio is 21.35%, above the 7% NCUA threshold for well capitalized.
- Net worth ratio (Q2 2026): 21.35%
- Delinquency ratio (60+ days) (Q2 2026): not reported
- Return on assets (Q2 2026): 1.42%
- Loan-to-share ratio (Q2 2026): 60.61%
Northwestern Employees Credit Union (NCUA charter 64282, established 1941) reported $10.4M in assets and 1,202 members for Q2 2026 from Council Bluffs, Iowa. It ranks 51 of 65 credit unions in Iowa by total assets. Total assets grew 1.4% from $10.2M on June 30, 2025. It has 2 more members than on June 30, 2025 (+0.2%). Its net worth ratio was up 0.84 percentage points from 20.51% on June 30, 2025. New vehicle loans are its largest loan category, $2.2M of $4.9M in total loans on its June 30, 2026 filing.
Data as of · sourced from NCUA 5300 call reports. How we update
Scorecard by dimension
Median of the 2,479 credit unions with under $100M in assets: 14.31%; middle half of peers: 11.14% to 19.38%.
Earlier filings: 21.10% for Q1 2026; 20.51% for Q2 2025.
Median of the 2,162 credit unions with under $100M in assets: 0.86%; middle half of peers: 0.35% to 1.93%.
Earlier filings: 0.47% for Q2 2025.
Median of the 2,477 credit unions with under $100M in assets: 0.72%; middle half of peers: 0.16% to 1.30%.
Earlier filings: 0.97% for Q1 2026; 1.88% for Q2 2025.
Median of the 2,470 credit unions with under $100M in assets: 58.92%; middle half of peers: 42.33% to 75.81%.
Earlier filings: 60.60% for Q1 2026; 58.23% for Q2 2025.
Loans by type, Q2 2026
- New vehicle loans: $2.2M
- Used vehicle loans: $1.7M
- Other secured non-real estate loans and lines of credit: $721K
- Other unsecured loans and lines of credit: $324K
Scored ratios by quarter
| Quarter | Total assets | Net worth ratio | Delinquency | ROA | Loan-to-share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| June 30, 2026 | $10.4M | 21.35% | — | 1.42% | 60.61% |
| March 31, 2026 | $10.3M | 21.10% | — | 0.97% | 60.60% |
| December 31, 2025 | $10.1M | 21.38% | — | 0.74% | 60.43% |
| September 30, 2025 | $10.2M | 20.85% | — | 1.35% | 57.96% |
| June 30, 2025 | $10.2M | 20.51% | 0.47% | 1.88% | 58.23% |
| March 31, 2025 | $10.1M | 20.22% | — | 1.01% | 59.99% |
Add this badge to your website
Free to use. It shows Northwestern Employees Credit Union’s latest filed figures and updates each quarter.
How we score this
Net worth ratio: NCUA well capitalized at 7%, adequately at 6%. Our bands, pass to fail: delinquency 1% to 2%, ROA 0.5% to 0%, loan-to-share 85% to 100%. Not a credit rating. Methodology.
Northwestern Employees Credit Union profile
Regulator records: NCUA credit union profile (charter 64282) · FFIEC NIC profile (RSSD 397399)
Frequently asked questions
Is Northwestern Employees Credit Union well capitalized?
On its Q2 2026 NCUA 5300 call report, Northwestern Employees Credit Union's net worth ratio is 21.35%, above the 7% NCUA threshold for well capitalized.
Is Northwestern Employees Credit Union FDIC insured?
No. The FDIC insures banks, not credit unions. Northwestern Employees Credit Union is a federally insured credit union (NCUA charter 64282): its share insurance fund, run by the NCUA, covers $250,000 per member per ownership category.
What are Northwestern Employees Credit Union's key safety ratios?
For Q2 2026, Northwestern Employees Credit Union reports net worth 21.35%, delinquency not reported, ROA 1.42%, loan-to-share 60.61%.
What happens to my money if Northwestern Employees Credit Union fails?
For Q2 2026, Northwestern Employees Credit Union held $8.1M in shares and deposits for 1,202 members. If it failed, the NCUA would pay its insured shares up to $250,000 per member.