Bank Safety Analysis
First State Bank: final safety record
BankRegReports is independent of First State Bank and never asks for online banking logins or passwords.
The standout move of Q2 2026 was in return on assets: 0.48 percentage points lower than in Q1 2026, at 0.99%. The median for banks in the < $100M asset tier is 12.62% on leverage ratio. First State Bank sits 2.10 points lower, at 10.53% (Q2 2026). From Q3 2023 to Q2 2026, First State Bank's Texas ratio held at 0.00% in every quarter. Between Q2 2025 and Q2 2026, First State Bank's nonperforming loan ratio (nonaccrual plus 90+ days past due) held at 0.00%, Texas ratio held at 0.00% and return on assets fell from 1.49% to 0.99%.
Data as of · sourced from FFIEC call reports. How we update
Scorecard by dimension
Peer cohort: Under $100M (578 banks) · Industry averages as of Q2 2026.
Leverage ratio of 10.53% exceeds the 9% Community Bank Leverage Ratio threshold. The bank is deemed well-capitalized under CBLR.
Tier 1 leverage of 10.53% is above the 5% well-capitalized threshold.
Nonperforming loans at 0.00% are within industry-normal range.
Texas Ratio of 0.0% is well below the 100% historical failure threshold.
Efficiency ratio of 66.6% is inside the 75% pass line, though above the 65% level typical of lower-cost banks.
Note: This bank has elected the Community Bank Leverage Ratio framework, a simplified capital regime for community banks meeting size and complexity criteria. Banks under CBLR don't report CET1 separately; the CBLR leverage threshold serves as the well-capitalized benchmark.
Risk screens
Latest filing (Q2 2026), passing screens included.
| Screen | Value | Trigger | Result |
|---|---|---|---|
| CET1 capital ratio supervisory threshold | — | Flags below 7% | Not reported |
| Texas ratio BankRegReports band | 0.00% | Watch at 50%, concern at 100% | Within range |
| Non-performing loan ratio BankRegReports band | 0.00% | Flags at 3% or above | Within range |
| Uninsured deposit share BankRegReports band | — | Watch at 50%, concern at 70% | Not reported |
| Loan-to-deposit ratio BankRegReports band | 110.56% | Flags at 100% or above | Flagged |
| Commercial real estate to capital supervisory threshold | 0.00% | Watch at 200%, concern at 300% | Within range |
| Held-to-maturity unrealized loss to equity BankRegReports band | 0.00% | Watch at 10%, concern at 25% | Within range |
Texas Ratio: last 12 quarters
| Quarter | Texas Ratio (%) |
|---|---|
| Q2 2026 | 0.00% |
| Q1 2026 | 0.00% |
| Q4 2025 | 0.00% |
| Q3 2025 | 0.00% |
| Q2 2025 | 0.00% |
| Q1 2025 | 0.00% |
| Q4 2024 | 0.00% |
| Q3 2024 | 0.00% |
| Q2 2024 | 0.00% |
| Q1 2024 | 0.00% |
| Q4 2023 | 0.00% |
| Q3 2023 | 0.00% |
First State Bank by quarter
| Quarter end | CET1 | NPL ratio | Texas ratio | ROA |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jun 30, 2026 | — | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.99% |
| Mar 31, 2026 | — | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.47% |
| Dec 31, 2025 | — | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.21% |
| Sep 30, 2025 | — | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.52% |
| Jun 30, 2025 | — | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.49% |
| Mar 31, 2025 | — | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.52% |
| Dec 31, 2024 | — | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.20% |
| Sep 30, 2024 | — | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.37% |
| Jun 30, 2024 | — | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.48% |
| Mar 31, 2024 | — | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.62% |
| Dec 31, 2023 | — | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.39% |
| Sep 30, 2023 | — | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.67% |
Methodology & disclaimer
Based on the latest FFIEC call report. Model output is an estimate, not a credit rating, and this page is not investment advice. FDIC insurance covers deposits up to $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at any FDIC-insured bank, whatever its safety profile. See the methodology and full profile.
Regulator records: FDIC BankFind (cert 15364) · FFIEC NIC profile (RSSD 861854)
Explore: Full First State Bank profile · Other banks in NE · Metric glossary · How the call report works