Skip to main content

Bank Safety Analysis

Mid-Southern Savings Bank, F.S.B.: final safety record

BankRegReports is independent of Mid-Southern Savings Bank, F.S.B. and never asks for online banking logins or passwords.

Merged bank Mid-Southern Savings Bank, F.S.B. merged into Beacon Credit Union on April 26, 2025. The figures below are from its final call report (Q1 2025) and are historical. They do not describe an operating bank, so this page gives no current safety verdict.

Return on assets climbed 14.53 percentage points in Q1 2025, from -13.11% to 1.42%. It was the largest change from Q4 2024 among the key lines here. From Q2 2022 to Q1 2025, Mid-Southern Savings Bank, F.S.B.'s Texas ratio ranged between 0.68% (Q3 2024) and 3.06% (Q3 2022). Between Q1 2024 and Q1 2025, Mid-Southern Savings Bank, F.S.B.'s nonperforming loan ratio (nonaccrual plus 90+ days past due) rose from 0.20% to 0.24%, Texas ratio fell from 0.84% to 0.83% and return on assets rose from 0.62% to 1.42%.

Data as of · sourced from FFIEC call reports. How we update

How does Mid-Southern Savings Bank, F.S.B. score on capital, credit and costs?

Peer cohort: $100M to $1B (2,757 banks) · Industry averages as of Q2 2026.

Capital Adequacy PASS
Community Bank Leverage Ratio: 15.55% · 655 bps above the 9.0% CBLR well-capitalized line
Peer tier avg: 17.18% Industry avg: 13.74%
Pass: > 9.0% (CBLR elected); 8.0% from July 1, 2026 · Fail: ≤ 8.0%

Leverage ratio of 15.55% exceeds the 9% Community Bank Leverage Ratio threshold. The bank is deemed well-capitalized under CBLR.

Leverage PASS
Tier 1 Leverage Ratio: 15.55% · 1,055 bps above the 5.0% well-capitalized line
Peer tier avg: 11.74% Industry avg: 9.01%
Pass: ≥ 5.0% (well-capitalized) · Fail: < 4.0% (below minimum)

Tier 1 leverage of 15.55% is above the 5% well-capitalized threshold.

Asset Quality PASS
Nonperforming Loans (NPL) Ratio: 0.24% · 126 bps below the 1.5% BankRegReports watch band
Peer tier avg: 0.88% Industry avg: 0.93%
Pass: < 1.5% · Fail: > 3.0%

Nonperforming loans at 0.24% are within industry-normal range.

Stress Buffer PASS
Texas Ratio: 0.83% · 4,917 bps below the 50% BankRegReports watch band
Peer tier avg: 5.91% Industry avg: 5.58%
Pass: < 50% · Fail: > 100% (historical failure threshold)

Texas Ratio of 0.8% is well below the 100% historical failure threshold.

Operating Efficiency PASS
Efficiency Ratio: 59.78% · 1,522 bps below the 75% BankRegReports watch band
Peer tier avg: 63.71% Industry avg: 56.25%
Pass: ≤ 75% (lower is better) · Fail: ≥ 90%

Efficiency ratio of 59.8% reflects competitive operating costs (lower is better).

Note: This bank has elected the Community Bank Leverage Ratio framework, a simplified capital regime for community banks meeting size and complexity criteria. Banks under CBLR don't report CET1 separately; the CBLR leverage threshold serves as the well-capitalized benchmark.

Does Mid-Southern Savings Bank, F.S.B. trip any risk screens?

Latest filing (Q1 2025), passing screens included.

Risk screens for Mid-Southern Savings Bank, F.S.B.
Screen Value Trigger Result
CET1 capital ratio supervisory threshold — Flags below 7% Not reported
Texas ratio BankRegReports band 0.83% Watch at 50%, concern at 100% Within range
Non-performing loan ratio BankRegReports band 0.24% Flags at 3% or above Within range
Uninsured deposit share BankRegReports band — Watch at 50%, concern at 70% Not reported
Loan-to-deposit ratio BankRegReports band 67.42% Flags at 100% or above Within range
Commercial real estate to capital supervisory threshold 83.82% Watch at 200%, concern at 300% Within range
Held-to-maturity unrealized loss to equity BankRegReports band 0.00% Watch at 10%, concern at 25% Within range

Texas Ratio: last 12 quarters

Texas Ratio (%)
Quarter Texas Ratio (%)
Q1 2025 0.83%
Q4 2024 0.90%
Q3 2024 0.68%
Q2 2024 0.98%
Q1 2024 0.84%
Q4 2023 1.65%
Q3 2023 2.26%
Q2 2023 2.65%
Q1 2023 1.77%
Q4 2022 2.20%
Q3 2022 3.06%
Q2 2022 2.63%

How have Mid-Southern Savings Bank, F.S.B.'s safety ratios changed?

Key safety ratios, last 12 quarters
Quarter end CET1 NPL ratio Texas ratio ROA
Mar 31, 2025 — 0.24% 0.83% 1.42%
Dec 31, 2024 — 0.24% 0.90% -13.11%
Sep 30, 2024 — 0.18% 0.68% 0.93%
Jun 30, 2024 — 0.24% 0.98% 0.91%
Mar 31, 2024 — 0.20% 0.84% 0.62%
Dec 31, 2023 — 0.40% 1.65% 0.82%
Sep 30, 2023 — 0.46% 2.26% 0.88%
Jun 30, 2023 — 0.61% 2.65% 0.78%
Mar 31, 2023 — 0.41% 1.77% 0.61%
Dec 31, 2022 — 0.51% 2.20% 0.84%
Sep 30, 2022 — 0.59% 3.06% 0.87%
Jun 30, 2022 — 0.59% 2.63% 0.92%

Where does this data come from?

Based on the latest FFIEC call report. Model output is an estimate, not a credit rating, and this page is not investment advice.

FDIC insurance covers deposits up to $250,000 per depositor per ownership category at any FDIC-insured bank, whatever its safety profile. See the methodology and full profile.